Skip to content

Five candidates in the running in New Westminster-Burnaby

Election day is Monday, Sept. 20
Five candidates are vying for voters' support in New Westminster-Burnaby. File

Five candidates will be vying for votes in New Westminster-Burnaby in this year’s federal election.

As of Sept. 1, five candidates had been confirmed to run in the local riding: Kevin Heide (People’s Party of Canada); Rozina Jaffer of the Liberal Party of Canada; Peter Julian of the New Democratic Party; David Macdonald of the Green Party of Canada; and Paige Munro of the Conservative Party of Canada. Nominations closed on Aug. 30, and details are being posted to Elections Canada’s website.

The Record/Burnaby NOW have sent out questionnaires to the New Westminster-Burnaby candidates to get their thoughts on a number of issues. Stay tuned for their responses.

Election day is Monday, Sept. 20, but advance voting is taking place from Friday, Sept. 10 to Monday, Sept. 13. Details about in-person and voting by mail can be found at

According to Elections Canada, the New Westminster-Burnaby electoral district has a population of 115,340, with 86,010 electors on the list.

Julian, who hopes to win his seventh consecutive federal election, topped the polls in New Westminster-Burnaby in the October 2019 federal election with 44.2% of the vote, followed by Liberal Will Davis at 23.4%, Conservative Megan Veck at 21.6% and Green Suzanne de Montigny at 8.3%.Trailing behind were Hansen Ginn of the People’s Party, Libertarian Neeraj Murarka, independent Ahmad Passyar and Marxist-Leninist Joseph Theriault.

Follow Theresa McManus on Twitter @TheresaMcManus
Email [email protected]