Skip to content

Burnaby researcher to be inducted into 2023 BC Sports Hall of Fame

"Dr. Borisoff’s impact on Canadian wheelchair basketball cannot be overstated."
BCIT researcher Dr. Jamie Borisoff.

A Burnaby-based researcher and three-time Paralympic medallist will soon be inducted into the BC Sports Hall of Fame.

Dr. Jamie Borisoff, originally from New Westminster, won gold with Canada's wheelchair basketball in 2000 and 2004, and claimed silver in 2008.

He also helped the Canadians win the 2006 world championship title, as well as two bronze medals at the same tournament in 1998 and 2002. 

"We were extremely honoured to have been able to pay tribute to Dr. Borisoff's exceptional career during the Class of 2023 introductions,” BC Sports Hall of Fame CEO Nicholas Cartmell said in a release naming the 2023 class. 

"As a three-time Paralympic medalist with a career spanning 15 years, Dr. Borisoff’s impact on Canadian wheelchair basketball cannot be overstated. We'd like to extend our most heartfelt congratulations to the entire Class of 2023 and look forward to further honouring Dr. Borisoff at our Induction Gala next June."

Borisoff is the director of BCIT's MAKE+ Applied Research Team, where his research is focused on technology development that can improve mobility and quality of life for people with disabilities. 

He was previously Canadian Research Chair in Rehabilitation Engineering Design. 

"It was a very nice surprise to receive a phone call from the BC Sports Hall of Fame informing me about my induction," Borisoff added in the release. 

"It was even nicer to have my teammate Richard Peter MC at the announcement event on October 25. Truly it is an honour to join him and all the other inductees in the BC Sports Hall of Fame."

The 2023 induction gala is scheduled to be held next June, and is set to welcome the following:


  • Mitch Berger - Football
  • Dennis Kearns - Hokey
  • Kelsey Serwa - Ski Cross
  • Dr. Jamie Borisoff - Wheelchair Basketball
  • Dr. Susan Butt - Tennis
  • Mary-Anne Walz - Softball

Builders and Coaches

  • Wynn Gmitroski - Athletics
  • Deb Huband - Basketball
  • Jim Kojima - Judo
  • Carla Wualtrough - Para Sports


  • 1971 Richmond Roadrunners Men's Lacrosse
  • 2012 Penticton Vees Men's Hockey


  • Eleanor (Young) Stonehouse - Tennis
  • Dr. Brian Day - Spoirts Medicine


  • Dan Russell

W.A.C Bennett Award

  • Jake Kerr/Jeff Mooney