Skip to content

Burnaby teen awarded BC Achievement Foundation community award

David He is one of 20 recipents.
Burnaby teen David He has been named a recipient of the 2022 BC Achievement Foundation Community Award.

A Burnaby teen has been recognized with a major community award. 

David He was announced as one of the 20 recipients of the BC Achievement Foundation Community Award for 2022 and will be recognized in a formal presentation ceremony tomorrow (May 10) in Victoria in the presence of the Honourable Janet Austin, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia. 

“We are incredibly proud to celebrate the work of these 20 individuals, who shine as examples of dedication and service,” BC Achievement Foundation chair Anne Giardini said in a news release. 

"The past two years have been challenging for all of us. It's heartening to see these community leaders, visionaries, innovators and volunteers continuing to work to make the world a better place while lighting a path of achievement for other British Columbians to follow." 

David He founded the Global Spotlight Foundation in 2017, an international student initiative that transforms youth into change makers through stories and mentorship. 

He has led community projects including human libraries, conferences and town halls. He's also given three TEDx talks and represented Canada at the Human Rights Conference in Copenhagen, the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation, the 2019 Vimy Pilgrimage Award and is a Yale Young Global Scholar. 

In 2021, He was chosen by Prime Minister Justin Trudeau to provide policy advice to the Government of Canada through his youth council. He advocated for the national conversion therapy ban and increased funding for marginalized communities. 

"This year's community award recipients have supported their communities during exceptionally difficult times and are an inspiration to us all," Premier John Horgan added in the news release. 

"They have dedicated their time and energy to helping their friends and neighbours and British Columbia is a better province because of them." 

Other recipients are as follows: 

  • Carol Camille, Lillooet
  • Jim Good, Prince George
  • David He, Burnaby
  • Anthony and Nancy Yurkovich, Richmond 
  • Herman Ho, MB, AdeC, Vancouver 
  • Dr. Faisal Khosa, Vancouver  
  • Chin uook Kim, New Westminster 
  • Suresh Kurl, Richmond  
  • David Amrik Lau, Saanichton
  • Lawrie Mack, Invermere
  • Baylie McKnight, Victoria 
  • Anders I. Ourom, Vancouver
  • Carmen Rosen, Vancouver
  • Kamal Sharma, Surrey 
  • Robert Tanaka, Coquitlam
  • Dr. Tracey Thorne, Gabriola Island
  • Charissa Tonnesen, Tumbler Ridge
  • Dr. Vivian W. L. Tsang, Vancouver
  • Wayne White, Courtenay
  • Sqwulutsultun William Yoachim, Nanaimo