Skip to content

Former Burnaby MP Svend Robinson among 2023 SFU Honorary Degree recipients

Recipients will be honoured during 2023 spring and fall convocation ceremonies.
SFU has announced its 2023 honorary degree recipients.

Former longtime Burnaby MP Svend Robinson has been chosen to receive an honorary degree from Simon Fraser University (SFU).

Robinson, who represented Burnaby in the House of Commons for the NDP party from 1979 to 2004, will receive the degree of Doctor of Laws, honoris causa at the university's ceremony on June 6. 

SFU says its honorary degrees are awarded to distinguished individuals in recognition of their scholarly, scientific, artistic achievements or in recognition of exceptional contributions to the public good. 

"Honorary degree recipients' achievements celebrate our values and serve as an inspiration to our students, graduands and our community." 

SFU's 2023 honorary degree recipients are as follows: 

  • Adelle Blackett — Doctor of Laws, honoris causa
  • Donald Dingwell — Doctor of Science, honoris causa
  • Barbara Findlay — Doctor of Laws, honoris causa
  • Dany Laferrière — Doctor of Letters, honoris causa
  • Joy MacPhail — Doctor of Laws, honoris causa
  • Svend Robinson — Doctor of Laws, honoris causa
  • Zainub Verjee — Doctor of Fine Arts, honoris causa
  • Stan Douglas — Doctor of Fine Arts, honoris causa 
  • Esther Duflo — Doctor of Laws, honoris causa
  • Larry Grant — Doctor of Laws, honoris causa
  • Phyllis Webstad — Doctor of Laws, honoris causa
push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks