Skip to content

Photos: Burnaby Velodrome Club wins 18 provincial medals on home track

The Burnaby-based team rallied to nine gold, two silver and seven bronze on their own plywood.

B.C.'s best track cyclists showed off their speed and skill in Burnaby last weekend with several medals on the line.

The 2023 Provincial Track Championships was hosted by the Burnaby Velodrome Club (BVC) with the hosts pedalling to 18 medals in their own bubble from the three-day event.

Burnaby athlete Lauren Fridman and BVC teammate Uli Mayer made out with four medals each, including five golds combined.

This was the first time in two years Burnaby's velodrome — located at 7564 Barnet Hwy. — has hosted the track cycling provincials.

BVC spokesperson Hans Loeffelholz told the NOW it's a very significant competition to host considering the community's dedication to preserving its facility.

"Track cycling is just one of many cycling disciplines and there are only a few indoor facilities in North America," he explained in an earlier statement.

"Burnaby happens to be the home of the longest-running indoor velodrome in North America. So it is pretty special."

During the competition, Cam Fitzmaurice of West Vancouver set a new B.C. 4,000 m individual pursuit record with a time of 4:22.

As well, Jenna Nestman of Roberts Creek racked up the hardware as champion in the overall women's endurance omnium champion, 3,000 m individual pursuit, and the scratch and points races.

The BVC medallists were as follows (in alphabetical order):


  • Lauren Fridman
    • Women Pursuit Final
    • Senior Women Sprint Final - Women
  • Malcolm Kenning
    • Master C Men Scratch Race Final
  • Jonathan Lyons
    • Master D Men Scratch Race Final 
    • Master D Men Points Race Final 
  • Uli Mayer
    • Master C Men Pursuit Final
    • Master C Men Scratch Race Final
    • Master C Men Points Race Final 
  • Mike McCorkell
    • Master B Men 800m Time Trial Final


  • Lauren Fridman
    • Women Sprint Final
  • Mike McCorkell
    • Master B Men Pursuit Final


  • Vihaan Bala-Miller
    • U15 Men Pursuit Final
    • U15 Men 300m Time Trial Final
    • U15 Men Sprint Final
  • Lauren Fridman
    • Women Scratch Race Final
  • Malcolm Kenning
    • Master C Men Points Race Final
  • Uli Mayer
    • Master C Men 500m Time Trial Final
  • Scott Vigliotti
    • Master B Men Points Race Final