Skip to content

Photos: Two Burnaby North Secondary runners win Fraser North Jr. cross-country championships

The meet included teams from the Burnaby, New Westminster, Coquitlam and Maple Ridge school districts.

Elijah Clarke and Sarah Wiebe crossed the finish line first for Burnaby North Secondary at the 2023 Fraser North zone junior boys' and girls' cross-country championships.

The event was held at Mundy Park in Coquitlam on Wednesday, Oct. 25.

Consisting of teams from the Burnaby, New Westminster, Coquitlam and Maple Ridge school districts, the top four finishers from the top four schools in each race category qualify for the provincial championships as do the top four finishers in each race. The provincials will be held Nov. 4 at Crescent Park in Surrey.

Alpha Secondary's Eamon Wilson and Julia Warren claimed second and third in the AAA senior boys'  and junior girls' races respectively.

Burnaby Central's Ella Ricketts won silver in the AAA senior girls' category.

Meanwhile, the Heritage Woods Kodiaks from Port Moody posted top team performances in junior boys and girls, as well as second in the AAA senior boys' category and third in the AAA senior girls' race.

Top individual performances by Kodiaks runners included: Billy Thiele-Crocker, who finished second in the Jr. boys 4k; Alexa Moore, also second in the Jr. girls 4K; and Coen McMurray, fifth in the Sr. boys race.

Thomas Haney Secondary was the top team in the Sr. boys, Port Coquitlam’s Riverside was third and Burnaby Mountain was fourth.

The Sr. girls was swept by schools from the Tri-Cities; Riverside was first, Port Moody Secondary was second and the Gleneagle Talons finished fourth.

In the junior 4K races, Dr. Charles Best was second in the boys category, Burnaby Mountain finished third and Port Coquitlam's Archbishop Carney was fourth.

In the girls, a trio of Burnaby schools trailed Heritage Woods, with Burnaby North in second, Alpha in third and St. Thomas More in fourth.

Top four finishers in each race

Jr. Boys

  1. Elijah Clarke, Burnaby North
  2. Billy Thiele-Crocker, Heritage Woods
  3. Kalen Conkin, Riverside
  4. Gabriel Headley, Maple Ridge

Jr. Girls

  1. Sarah Wiebe, Burnaby North
  2. Alexa Moore, Heritage Woods
  3. Julia Warren, Alpha
  4. Sophia Shearcroft, unattached

Sr. Boys

  1. Elijah Headley, Maple Ridge
  2. Eamon Wilson, Alpha
  3. Minto Sugiyama, Maple Ridge
  4. Aidan Evans, Maple Ridge

Sr. Girls

  1. Daya Bains, Port Moody
  2. Ella Ricketts, Burnaby Central
  3. Clarissa Chen, Port Moody
  4. Pia Ambrecht, Thomas Haney