Skip to content

Here's a voting guide to Burnaby's 2022 municipal election in October

General voting day is scheduled for Oct. 15.
A voting place sign outside Bill Copeland Sports Centre in Burnaby.

With less than one month before the 2022 municipal elections, we've put together a voting guide for Burnaby residents with everything they should know ahead of advance voting and general voting day on Oct. 15. 


There are candidates slated for council and school board positions in October. Mayor Mike Hurley has already won by acclamation as nobody challenged him in the mayor race. He will serve a second term.

There will be at least two new councillors in Burnaby as Coun. Colleen Jordan and Coun. Dan Johnston announced they would not be seeking re-election this fall. 

Candidate Q&As will be added to this guide once they have been completed.

In addition to voting for councillors and school trustees, voters will also be asked to vote on the dedication of land parks including Cariboo and Brunette conservation lands, Stoney Creek park and trail system, Deer Lake Park and Burnaby Lake park system. 

City council candidates

  • Ken Arnold - Independent
  • Reah Arora - Burnaby Citizens Association
  • Pietro Calendino (incumbent) - Burnaby Citizens Association 
  • Antara Deb - Burnaby Citizens Association 
  • Sav Dhaliwal (incumbent) - Burnaby Citizens Association 
  • Gulam Firdos - Independent 
  • Mona Grewal - One Burnaby
  • Alison Gu (incumbent) - Burnaby Citizens Association 
  • Mike Hillman (incumbent) - One Burnaby
  • Joe Keithley (incumbent) - Burnaby Green Party
  • Martin Kendell - Independent 
  • Richard T. Lee - One Burnaby
  • Richard N. Liu - One Burnaby
  • Carrie McLaren - Burnaby Green Party 
  • Mario Miceli - One Burnaby
  • Jasmine Nicholsfigueiredo - Burnaby Green Party
  • Michael Angelo Robinhood - Independent 
  • Konstantine Roccas - Independent
  • Brea Huang Sami - One Burnaby
  • Maita Santiago - Burnaby Citizens Association 
  • Tara Shushtarian - Burnaby Green Party
  • Deborah Skerry - Independent 
  • Tom Tao - Independent
  • Daniel Tetrault - Burnaby Citizens Association 
  • Scott Van Denham - Independent 
  • James Wang (incumbent) - Burnaby Citizens Association 
  • Heymann Yip - Independent

Office of School Trustees candidates

  • Bill Brassington - Burnaby Citizens Association
  • Peter Cech - Burnaby Citizens Association
  • Jeff Courson - Burnaby Green Party
  • Rocky Dong - Independent 
  • Larry Hayes - Burnaby Citizens Association
  • Paul Kwon - Independent
  • Jen Mezei - Burnaby Citizens Association 
  • Harinder Parmar - Burnaby Green Party
  • Michelle Sasakamoose - Burnaby Citizens Association 
  • Kristin Schnider - Burnaby Citizens Association 
  • Spenser Sproul - Independent
  • Gary Wong - Burnaby Citizens Association 


Advance voting is scheduled for Saturday, Oct. 1, Wednesday, Oct. 5 and Saturday, Oct. 8 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at six voting locations. 

  • Confederation Seniors' Centre
  • The Amazing Brentwood
  • Cameron Recreation Complex
  • Metropolis at Metrotown
  • Bonsor Recreation Complex
  • Edmonds Community Centre

General voting day is Saturday, Oct. 15 from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the following locations. 

  • Alpha Secondary School
  • Armstrong Elementary School
  • Bonsor Recreation Complex
  • The Amazing Brentwood
  • Burnaby Central Secondary School
  • Burnaby North Secondary School
  • Cameron Recreation Complex
  • Capitol Hill Elementary School
  • Cascade Heights Elementary School
  • Chaffey-Burke Elementary School
  • Clinton Elementary School
  • Confederation Seniors' Centre
  • Edmonds Community Centre
  • Forest Grove Elementary School
  • Gilmore Avenue Community School
  • Kitchener ELementary School
  • Lakeview Elementary School
  • Lochdale Community School
  • Marlborough Elementary School
  • Metropolis at Metrotown
  • Morley Elementary School
  • Moscrop Secondary School
  • Nelson Elementary School
  • Seaforth Elementary School
  • Second Street Community School
  • South Slope Elementary School
  • Sperling Elementary School
  • Stoney Creek Community School
  • Taylor Park Elementary School
  • University Highlands Elementary School
  • Westridge Elementary School
  • Windsor Elementary School

Curbside voting is also available at all polling stations for those that have difficulty entering a voting location. 

Residents will need to bring someone who can advise the Presiding Election Official that they need assistance or call the Burnaby Election Office at 604-294-7088 and arrange assistance. 

Workers will come to your vehicle and complete the steps necessary for voting. 

Mail-in ballots

For the first time in Burnaby's electoral history, voters will have an opportunity to vote by mail should they choose. 

There are three ways to receive an application package: 

  • Apply online or fill out a paper application
  •  Contact the Burnaby Election Office and ask that an application be mailed to you. This must be done before noon on Oct. 6 to ensure you recieve a mail ballot
  • Pick up an application package at the Christine Sinclair Community Centre, Burnaby City Hall, any Burnaby public library or the W.A.C. Bennet Library at SFU

Mail ballot packages will be ready for pick up or sent by mail as of 8:30 a.m. on Sept. 24. The city says the last day a mail ballot package will be mailed out is Oct. 6 to ensure time for delivery before the completed mail ballot must be returned. 

Completed mail ballots must be returned to the Election Office by 8 p.m. on Oct. 15. Postmarks will not be accepted and any ballots arriving after 8 p.m. on general voting day will not be counted. 


To be a resident elector, the following criteria have to be met at the time of voting.

  • 18 years or older on or before general voting day
  • Canadian citizen
  • Resident of British Columbia for at least six months immediately before the day of registration
  • A resident of the City of Burnaby in accordance with applicable legislation
  • Not disqualified under the Local Government Act or any enactment from voting in an election or otherwise disqualified by law

If you are a registered voter, you will receive a voter card this month. 

For new or unregistered voters, or if you are updating personal information on your voter card, need to bring two pieces of acceptable ID that provide evidence of your identity and place of residence. One must contain the voter's signature.


The City of Burnaby says the following pieces of ID are acceptable when registering in person or updating personal information. 

  • BC CareCard
  • BC Identification Card issued by ICBC
  • BC Services Card
  • BC Driver's License
  • Birth Certificate
  • Burnaby Public Library Card
  • Canadian passport or Citizenship card
  • Certificate of Indian Status
  • Debit or credit card
  • Income Tax Assessment
  • Metis Certificate Status
  • Monthly Report/Request for Continued Income Assistance
  • Nexus border card
  • Owner's Certificate of Insurance and Vehicle License issued by ICBC
  • Property tax notice from the City of Burnaby
  • Social Insurance Card
  • Statutory Declaration/Sworn Affidavit (from a notary public, lawyer or commissioner for taking affidavits) 
  • Student card
  • Utility bill (electricity, water, phone, natural gas or cable)