Skip to content

Burnaby soccer icon Christine Sinclair among recipients for Order of British Columbia

Fourteen British Columbians will receive the honour in late fall of 2022.
Burnaby's Christine Sinclair has been honoured by the City of Burnaby by renaming a local facility after her.

Christine Sinclair will soon wear another medal around her neck.

The Burnaby soccer legend has been named as one of 14 recipients of the Order of British Columbia in 2022. 

Sinclair was also named to the Order of Canada in 2017. 

"As representative of the Crown in British Columbia and as chancellor of the Order of British Columbia, it is my great honour to welcome 14 new members to the order," B.C. Lt.-Gov. Janet Austin said in a news release. 

"I share these congratulations with gratitude to these incredible individuals who have done so much to enrich their communities. Their leadership and generous service has enhanced the lives of so many British Columbians and has contributed to shaping a better future for all residents of our province."

The past two years have been some of the best for Sinclair's career. 

Sinclair finally claimed her Olympic gold at the Tokyo 2020 Summer Games when Canada upset Sweden in a thrilling shootout. 

She was honoured earlier this year with the Best FIFA Special Award as the top scorer in international play of any gender. 

On Jan. 29, 2020, the Burnaby product made world history when she scored international goal number 185, surpassing the previous all-time leader Abby Wambach of the United States. 

To date, Sinclair has made 315 appearances in a Canadian jersey, starting 308 games, scoring 190 goals and tallying 243 points. 

The other Order of B.C. recipients this year are as follows: 

  • Dr. Nadine Rena Caron of Prince George
  • Kúkpi7 (Chief) Rosanne Casimir of Kamloops
  • Nezhat Khosrowshahi of Vancouver
  • Kathy Kinlock of Surrey
  • Joy MacPhail, CM, of Vancouver
  • Fred Ting Shek Mah of Vancouver
  • Harinder Mahil of Coquitlam
  • Maureen Maloney, QC, of Victoria
  • Geoff Plant, QC, of Vancouver
  • Christine Sinclair of Burnaby
  • Paul Spong of Alert Bay
  • Gerald St. Germain, PC, of Langley
  • Jody Wilson-Raybould, PC, QC, of Quathiaski Cove
  • Bruce Munro Wright of Vancouver