Skip to content

Meet the candidates: Who’s running for Burnaby city council?

Read how Burnaby council candidates want to address housing, crime, increasing heat and other issues in the Burnaby Now’s questionnaire to civic candidates.
Burnaby Candidates
There are 27 city council candidates running for election in Burnaby, B.C. The municipal election is Oct. 15.

Housing, crime, traffic and climate change – these are some of the issues raised by the Burnaby Now’s survey posed to candidates vying for a spot on Burnaby city council.

The council hopefuls outlined their plans for the direction in which they want the city to move.

Questionnaires posted on the Burnaby Now’s website offer a lens into the ideas and hopes of those who want to make a home on the council table at Burnaby City Hall.

It’s no secret there’s a housing crisis – so what’s to be done? How and where do candidates want to see development as a response to population growth? How will candidates deal with crime and safety?

Are would-be councillors homeowners, renters or do they live in a co-op? Do they rent property to others?

Who is concerned about a lack of child care? What are possible civic solutions to increasing heat, especially after last year’s tragic heat dome?

What has been the greatest success – or failure – of the current city council?

You can also read how the candidates would spend a leisurely day in the city they want to represent – and get a few café and park recommendations while you’re at it.

Incumbent Mayor Mike Hurley, independent, was acclaimed to the mayor’s seat, as he received no challengers for the role. He has the support of all three of Burnaby’s civic parties.

You can find collected election information, coverage and quick links on the Burnaby Now’s 2022 civic election page.

There are 27 candidates running for eight Burnaby council seats.

Election day is Oct. 15

Ken Arnold, independent

Reah Arora, Burnaby Citizens Association

Pietro Calendino, Burnaby Citizens Association

Antara Deb, Burnaby Citizens Association

Sav Dhaliwal, Burnaby Citizens Association

Gulam Firdos, independent

Mona Grewal, One Burnaby

Alison Gu, Burnaby Citizens Association

Mike Hillman, One Burnaby

Joe Keithley, Burnaby Green Party

Martin Kendell, independent

Richard T. Lee, One Burnaby

Richard N. Liu, One Burnaby

Carrie McLaren, Burnaby Green Party

Mario Miceli, One Burnaby

Jasmine Nicholsfigueiredo, Burnaby Green Party

MichaelAngelo Robinhood, independent (questionnaire not received)

Konstantine Roccas, independent

Brea Huang Sami, One Burnaby

Maita Santiago, Burnaby Citizens Association

Tara Shushtarian, Burnaby Green Party

Deborah Skerry, independent

Tom Tao, independent

Daniel Tetrault, Burnaby Citizens Association

Scott Van Denham, independent

James Wang, Burnaby Citizens Association

Heymann Yip, independent

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks